& the Heartbreakers are heading out on tour this summer with , which is undoubtably killer news for fans of two legendary acts. I got to see a Petty show a few years back at was the opener and actually did an Encore before Petty’s set — and I was truly blown away by the concert. Quite possibly in my Top 10.

I’ll probably try and get tickets for Chicago if I’m still around by that time of year. Or you could see him in Indianapolis on July 3 — definitely a pleasant way to spend the holiday weekend.

announce an upcoming summer tour that will take the band through the U.S. and Canada. The news comes as the Heartbreakers prepare for the biggest show in live entertainment, the XLII Halftime Show, broadcast live on Fox Sunday, February 3. All tour tickets, with a few exceptions, will go on sale February 4, the day after the festivities. Watched by nearly 140 million people in the U.S. and one billion in 230 countries and territories worldwide, the Halftime Show will give the world a preview of the legendary live act that will storm the U.S. and Canada in a few short months. [JamBase]

Read on for the tour dates. Anyone catch that recent documentary, “Running Down a Dream?” I only saw about half of it but it’s pretty good from what I saw.

Tom Petty &

05/30/08 Fri Van Andel Arena Grand Rapids, MI
05/31/08 Sat The Palace Auburn Hills, MI
06/03/08 Tue Canada Centre , ON
06/05/08 Thu Wachovia Center Philadelphia, PA
06/08/08 Sun Nissan Pavilion Bristow, VA
06/10/08 Tue Post Gazette Pavilion Burgettstown, PA
06/11/08 Wed New England Dodge Music Center Hartford, CT
06/13/08 Fri TD BankNorth Garden Boston, MA
06/17/08 Tue Garden New York, NY
06/18/08 Wed Newark, NJ
06/21/08 Sat Darien Lake Performing Arts Center Darien Center, NY
06/22/08 Sun Blossom Music Center Cuyahoga Falls, OH
06/25/08 Wed Los Angeles, CA
07/02/08 Wed Chicago, IL
07/03/08 Thu Verizon Wireless Music Center Noblesville, IN
07/08/08 Tue Riverbend Music Center Cincinnati, OH
07/09/08 Wed Verizon Wireless Amphitheatre at Encore Park , GA
07/11/08 Fri Verizon Wireless Amphitheater Charlotte, NC
07/12/08 Sat Walnut Creek Amphitheatre (formerly Alltel Pavilion) Raleigh, NC
07/15/08 Tue Bank Atlantic Center Sunrise, FL
07/16/08 Wed St. Pete Times Forum – Ice Palace , FL
07/20/08 Sun Qwest Center Omaha, NE
07/22/08 Tue Sprint Center Kansas City, MO
07/23/08 Wed Target Center , MN
08/07/08 Thu Verizon Wireless Amphitheatre Maryland Heights, MO
08/09/08 Sat MTS Centre Winnipeg, MB
08/11/08 Mon Pengrowth Saddledome Calgary, AB
08/12/08 Tue Rexall Place Edmonton, AB
08/15/08 Fri , WA
08/16/08 Sat , WA
08/20/08 Wed Jobing.com Arena Glendale, AZ
08/22/08 Fri Verizon Wireless Amphitheater (Irvine Meadows) Irvine, CA
08/26/08 Tue Verizon Wireless Amphitheater Selma, TX
08/27/08 Wed American Airlines Center Dallas, TX
08/29/08 Fri Cynthia Mitchell Pavilion The Woodlands, TX