PHOTOS: Wilco @ Newport Folk Festival, Fort Adams 7/27/12

Newport Folk decided to do things a bit differently this year. After selling out the two-day festival three and half months early, Jay Sweet and company decided to add Wilco to the list of Newport Folk performers with an extra night at Fort Adams just for them to headline, it also featured Blitzen Trapper and Megafaun as openers. It may have rained midway through the night, but it let up just in time for Jeff Tweedy and the gang to take the stage. Their stage set up and lighting was magical and one of the most memorable moments of the entire weekend. I heard from multiple attendees, including one who flew in from South Dakota just for Wilco themselves that this was one of the best Wilco sets they’ve seen in a long time.

Wilco @ Newport Folk Festival 2012 Setlist:

1. Christ for President
2. Art of Almost
3. I Might
4. Poor Places
5. Spiders (Kidsmoke)
6. Impossible Germany
7. Born Alone
8. Laminated Cat (aka Not For The Season)
9. Open Mind
10. Handshake Drugs
11. Can’t Stand It
12. Whole Love
13. Box Full of Letters
14. I’m Always In Love
15. Heavy Metal Drummer
16. I’m the Man Who Loves You
17. Dawned On Me
18. Shot in the Arm
Encore 1:
19. California Stars
20. Airline to Heaven
21. The Late Greats
Encore 2:
22. Walken
23. Hoodoo Voodoo