Sufjan Stevens Announces New Album ‘The Ascension’, Shares “America” Single & Video

Sufjan Stevens has announced a new album titled The Ascension, his eighth solo studio album set for release September 25 on Asthmatic Kitty Records. The first single from the LP is out today, the final track on the record called “America,” along with a video filmed by Stevens.

From the press release:

“My objective for this album was simple: Interrogate the world around you. Question anything that doesn’t hold water. Exterminate all bullshit. Be part of the solution or get out of the way. Keep it real. Keep it true. Keep it simple. Keep it moving.”

“America” and “My Rajneesh” are out as a double-sided 12-inch single July 31, with “My Rajneesh” to be released digitally July 10. Preorder the 12-inch here and watch the video below.

Sufjan Stevens - America [Official Audio]


1. Make Me An Offer I Cannot Refuse (5:19)
2. Run Away With Me (4:07)
3. Video Game (4:16)
4. Lamentations (3:42)
5. Tell Me You Love Me (4:22)
6. Die Happy (5:47)
7. Ativan (6:32)
8. Ursa Major (3:43)
9. Landslide (5:04)
10. Gilgamesh (3:50)
11. Death Star (4:04)
12. Goodbye To All That (3:48)
13. Sugar (7:37)
14. The Ascension (5:56)
15. America (12:30)