portugalthemanevilfriendsalbumOne week ahead of it’s official release date (June 4th), Portugal. the Man have made their new album, Evil Friends available for stream on Tubmlr. For the first time, the band worked with Danger Mouse and the results are brilliant. I was immediately hooked after the first listen especially tracks “Creep In A T-Shirt”, “Holy Roller” and “Sea of Air”. Although not a complete departure from 2011’s breakthrough In The Mountain In the Cloud, this latest release sees the band progress mightily, still keeping their signature psychedelic sound with jam breakdowns but stepping up the lyrical presentation and overall dark yet somehow uplifting themes throughout. It’s one I’ll be adding to the vinyl collection for a proper listen come June 4th, that’s for sure. Thankfully we can preview it early. Check out the full tracklist after the jump.

Evil Friends Tracklist:

01. Plastic Soldiers
02. Creep In A T-Shirt
03. Evil Friends
04. Modern Jesus
05. Hip Hop Kids
06. Atomic Man
07. Sea of Air
08. Waves
09. Holy Roller (Hallelujah)
10. Someday Believers
11. Purple Yellow Red and Blue
12. Smile

Stream it via Portugal. the Man’s Tumblr page
and pre-order your copy now. They are one of the best live shows out there and with this new material, it’ll be even more must see. The band kicks off a huge Summer Tour in Philly on June 7th in support.

Portugal. The Man - Atomic Man [Official Music Video]