Rock and Roll Hall of Fame 2013 Inductees: Public Enemy, Rush and Randy Newman

The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Class of 2013 is out and includes the long-overdue induction of progressive rockers Rush, Public Enemy, singer-songwriter Randy Newman, and the late, great Disco Queen herself, Donna Summer. Unfortunately, The Meters didn’t make the cut this year, hopefully the powers-that-be and fan voters will wisen up and give the legendary and immeasurably influential New Orleans funk quartet their much-deserved day in the sun one day. N.W.A., Kraftwerk, Deep Purple and Joan Jett and the Blackhearts were also among the final nominees who failed to make it this year.

Additional inductees include Heart and bluesman Albert King, while legendary producer Quincy Jones and Roxy Theatre owner Lou Adler will both receive the Ahmet Ertegun Award for non-performers.

In order for an artist to be eligible for the Hall of Fame, their first recording must have been released at least 25 years ago.

The induction ceremony is set for Saturday, April 18th, 2013 at the Nokia Theatre in Los Angeles, and will broadcast on HBO at a later date.