LCD Soundsystem Releases VR Video “Dance Tonite”

LCD Soundsystem has announced the release of “Dance Tonite”, a VR world set to the single “tonite” that the band released recently.

Dance Tonite is an ever-changing VR collaboration by LCD Soundsystem and their fans featuring the band’s new song, “Tonite.” In it, you go from room to room experiencing a series of dance performances created entirely by fans. Using a new technology called WebVR, the experience is accessible from a single URL ( which works across platforms, giving the user a different role in the experience depending on their device.

The app should work across devices…

With Daydream View or other handheld VR headsets, you are on stage watching the experience unfold around you. With room-scale VR such as the HTC VIVE or Oculus Rift (which enable your physical movements to be reflected in your virtual environment), you are a performer. And without VR, you are in the audience getting a bird’s eye view perspective.

We know James Murphy has always been a fan of the emerging technologies around the music world — remember those subway station sound design things? — so this is a next logical step for the group.

Dance Tonite was created by artists Jonathan Puckey and Moniker in collaboration with the Data Arts Team, a specialized team within Google exploring the ongoing dialog between people and emerging technologies.

Experience for yourself at

Music by LCD Soundsystem
Directed by Jonathan Puckey, Moniker, and the Google Data Arts Team
Studio Puckey: Jonathan Puckey, David van Gelder de Neufville, Marius Schwarz
Studio Moniker: Roel Wouters
Data Arts Team: Jeff Nusz, Sabah Kosoy, Alisha Jaeger, Michael Chang, Stewart Smith, Gianluca Martini and special guest Christian Haas and support from David Krinsky, David Rappaport, Eric Davich, and Jack O’Connell

Video Credits:
Production: Grainey Pictures: Colin Gray, Megan Raney Aarons, Sherry Daniel, Nathan McGuire, Will Henderson-Nold, Nicholas Lee, Nicole Ryan
Audio post-production: Rik Elstgeest, Ralf Pouw
Grading: Fernando Barrientos
Performers: Melissa Siegrist, Marius Schwarz, Severin Bunse, Niklaus Mettler, Reineke Jonke (mime artist)