King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard have announced that they’re moving their 2021 North American tour to Fall 2022, which includes the marathon set shows at Berkeley’s Greek Theatre and two performances at Red Rocks Amphitheatre. The band is readying the release of their new album, Butterfly 3000, due out June 11th via the band’s own label KGLW.

While this is bummer news, the band shared some insights into how they made their new album which will keep us fans happy in the meantime.

The band have decided to play this one close to the vest, and will refrain from sharing any advance singles, or the album artwork, which will be a cross-eyed autostereogram created by long-time collaborator Jason Galea. Butterfly 3000 might be their most fearless leap into the unknown yet; a suite of ten songs that all began life as arpeggiated loops composed on modular synthesisers, before being fashioned into addictive, optimistic and utterly seductive dream-pop by the six-piece. The album sounds simultaneously like nothing they’ve ever done before, and thoroughly, unmistakeably Gizz, down to its climactic neon psych-a-tronic flourish. This is undoubtedly the most accessible and jubilant album of their career.

Here are the updated tour dates and you can find any tickets still available here.

King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard 2022 Tour Dates

Sun. Oct. 2 – Berkeley, CA @ Greek Theatre
Tue. Oct. 4 – Portland, OR @ Roseland Theater
Wed. Oct. 5 – Vancouver, BC @ PNE Forum
Thu. Oct. 6 – Seattle, WA @ Moore Theatre
Mon. Oct. 10 – Morrison, CO @ Red Rocks Amphitheatre
Tue. Oct. 11 – Morrison, CO @ Red Rocks Amphitheatre
Fri. Oct. 14 – St Paul, MN @ The Palace Theatre
Sat. Oct. 15 – Chicago, IL @ RADIUS
Sun. Oct. 16 – Detroit, MI @ Masonic Temple
Tue. Oct. 18 – Toronto, ON @ TBA
Wed. Oct. 19 – Montreal, QC @ L’Olympia
Sat. Oct. 22 – Philadelphia, PA @ Franklin Music Hall
Sun. Oct. 23 – Washington, DC @ The Anthem at The Wharf
Mon. Oct. 24 – Asheville, NC @ Rabbit Rabbit
Wed. Oct. 26 – Atlanta, GA @ The Eastern
Mon. Oct 31 – Oklahoma City, OK @ The Criterion

*all dates supported by Leah Senior