Khruangbin Announce New Album ‘Con Todo El Mundo’ and Drop New Video “Maria Tambien”

© Mary Kang

Khruangbin has confirmed their new album is done and due out soon! They’ve signed with Dead Oceans and gave us a dearth of new news to digest today.

Let’s take a look…

After two years of worldwide success, unassuming Texan trio Khruangbin announce their highly anticipated second album, Con Todo El Mundo, out January 26, 2017 via Dead Oceans. Continuing their world music pedigree, the band has expanded their global influences on this record from Thai funk to sounds of Spain and the Middle East, particularly Iran, from the 1960’s, 1970’s and beyond.

You’re already familiar with their first album, but in case it’s been a while since you gave it a spin, read Aaron Fortin’s thoughts on how amazing this album is here.

Formed of Laura Lee on bass, Mark Speer on guitar, and Donald “DJ” Johnson on drums, Khruangbin’s sounds have historically been rooted in the deepest waters of world music. Their 2015 debut album, The Universe Smiles Upon You, was heavily influenced by 60’s and 70’s Thai cassettes infused with classic soul, dub and psychedelia. This unusual mix created a powerful, hypnotic signature sound that’s entranced listeners around the world.

For their second album, they’re calling it Con Todo El Mundo and they’re out today with a new video called “Maria Tambien,” a loose “story of Iranian women prior to the revolution of 1979, celebrating their creativity, freedom and ability to express themselves, and showing a side of women in the Middle East that often isn’t seen in the Western world.” The album title is all Laura Lee who said the idea came from her grandpa…

“My grandpa would always ask me ‘Como me quieres?’ (how much do you love me?) And he’d only ever accept one response: ‘Con todo el mundo’ (with all the world). He created his own world to live in. Khruangbin is the world we’ve created.”

Watch Video For “Maria Tambien”

Khruangbin - Maria También (Official Video)

The women in the video are all part of a large network of artists, singers, dancers and songwriters who have been either exiled or silenced since the revolution. With their new video, Khruangbin hopes to bring these remarkable women back into the spotlight and honor the artistry of silenced women everywhere.

Con Todo El Mundo Tracklist:
01. Como Me Quieres
02. Lady And Man
03. Maria Tambien
04. August 10
05. Como Te Quiero
06. Shades Of Man
07. Evan Finds The Third Room
08. A Hymn
09. Rules
10. Friday Morning