Music fans everywhere woke up to a treat this morning. In a bit of reverse gift-giving, David Bowie has announced a new album on his 66th birthday, his first in ten years, called The Next Day. The album will be available March 12th in the US. With the announcement is the release of a promising first single (“Where Are We Now””) and a video to go alongside. The song was produced by long term collaborator Tony Visconti, written by David Bowie, recorded in New York and according to the press release, harks back to Bowie’s (UB40) time in Berlin. It’s interesting to note that Tony is the same producer who worked on the famous Bowie Berlin Trilogy and the album’s cover is an obvious wink to the 1977 classic. Check out “Where Are We Now” and The Next Day tracklist.

The Next Day Tracklist:

01. The Next Day
02. Dirty Boys
03. The Stars (Are Out Tonight)
04. Love Is Lost
05. Where Are We Now?
06. Valentine’s Day
07. If You Can See Me
08. I’d Rather Be High
09. Boss Of Me
10. Dancing Out In Space
11. How Does The Grass Grow
12. (You Will) Set The World On Fire
13. You Feel So Lonely You Could Die
14. Heat
Deluxe Tracks:
15. So She
16. I’ll Take You There
17. Plan