Gomez Announce 20th Anniversary Edition of ‘Liquid Skin’ + Share Unreleased Track

Gomez Announce The Release Of The Remastered 20TH ANNIVERSARY EDITION OF LIQUID SKIN Due For Release on July 12TH 2019

Britain’s classic indie-band Gomez will be celebrating the 20th anniversary of their sophomore album Liquid Skin this summer with a special edition re-release. The 20th anniversary edition will drop on July 12 in several formats: 2CD / 2LP, digital album, and a limited edition clear vinyl.

Liquid Skin marked a huge change for the band in comparison to their first album, Bring It On.

Liquid Skin was the step from the four track and recording in a garage to us accepting – in the most ridiculous way – that we were now doing music professionally, said Gomez drummer Oily Peacock.

In fact, many of the songs from Liquid Skin had been written during the same time period as Bring It On, as the two albums were released in a timespan of less than two years.

“They were made very closely together, so it seemed like part of the same process. We were constantly making records,” said Gomez singer and guitarist Ben Ottewell.

Perhaps one of the biggest differences between the two albums is the instrumentation.

“We were just using things we had access to… and for this album we had access to an orchestra! We just had a broader palette and we were getting more confident,” said Ottewell.

The new 20th anniversary release of Liquid Skin will include five unreleased tracks, four unreleased alternate versions of existing tracks, and nine tracks from their performance at The Fillmore in San Francisco in 2000. One of the un-released tracks, “Throwin’ Myself Away (Demo),” is now available to stream everywhere.