The big announcement arrived today at an expectedly unexpected time – midday on a Saturday: Daft Punk’s new album lands on Earth May 21st. Buckle up.

The pre-order run has already begun on iTunes for what has to be one of the most highly anticipated records to arrive in the 21st Century. The long-awaited followup to 2005′s Human After All will be titled Random Access Memories, coming out through Columbia Records’ imprint Daft Life Limited after a rather interesting marketing campaign in big cities around the world over the last month – most notably causing a stir at SXSW.

*Update 3/25/13: Daft Punk also premiered a short 15-second teaser on Saturday Night Live with a sample of the new album.

Daft Punk Random Access Memories SNL Ad HD

via Consequence of Sound

According to iTunes, the album comprises 13 tracks, though specific track titles have yet to be revealed. Recently, Columbia registered the album for licensing in the UK, revealing each track’s length (as you can see below).

A number of musicians have reportedly contributed to the new album, including Chic frontman Nile Rodgers, songwriter Paul Williams, Animal Collective’s Panda Bear, Feist collaborator Chilly Gonzales, and disco legend Giorgio Moroder.

Also below you’ll find the duo’s recent commerical promoting the album, which includes a 15-second snippet of new music.

Random Access Memories track lengths

01. 4:34
02. 5:21
03. 9:04
04. 3:48
05. 5:37
06. 5:53
07. 8:18
08. 6:07
09. 4:50
10. 5:41
11. 4:39
12. 4:11
13. 6:21

…and then, there will be a tour, we think.