I recently finalized plans to make a big move up to City later on in 2009 and I couldn’t be more excited. I have a ton of reasons to be stoked, of course, but for blogging purposes, this means I will suddenly have a huge set of options for great (probably too many).  Over the next few months, as I start my research to out where to , I also plan to explore many of the great options that will present themselves to me in the Big .

Prospect Park Bandshell logoSince we’re strongly considering as an option, I thought I’d start my focus on the “Celebrate ! Concert Series” at the Bandshell, which just announced its 2009 schedule. Although I definitely won’t be there in time to catch most of these shows, I hope to check out a few of them; that two-night run looks especially promising.

Overall, it’s awesome to see so many solid music options just in this one spot when I know there are so many other festivals, concert series, and to explore. Although time and money will definitely help to hold me back, let’s just say it’s going to be hard to behave in NYC.  I can’t wait…

All shows are free a $3 suggested contribution, except for those noted as “BENEFIT SHOW” which require .

Celebrate Brooklyn! 2009

Monday, June 8
– The Music of and

Thursday, June 11
Goran Bregovic & his Wedding and Funeral Orchestra

Friday, June 19
David Rudder
Samantha Thornhill

Saturday, June 20
Ethel
Gutbucket
Le Nave de los Monstruos

Thursday, June 25

Melvin Gibbs’ Elevated Entity

Friday, June 26

Saturday, June 27


These United States

Wednesday, July 1 – BENEFIT SHOW
(Sold out)

Thursday, July 2
Obie Bermudez
Rebel Diaz
Cucu Diamentes

Thursday, July 9
Streb

Friday, July 10

Aterciopelados

Saturday, July 11
For Kids!
Reader: Claudia Marshall

Thursday, July 16
Kronos Quartet
Luminescent Orchestrii

Friday, July 17
Robert
The Sweet Divines

Saturday, July 18
African : King Sunny Ade, Mandingo , Abena Koomson, Sing Sing, Yasser Darwish

Tuesday, July 21 – BENEFIT SHOW

Thursday, July 23
Stephen Petronio Co.

Friday, July 24

The Holmes Brothers

Saturday, July 25
Kailash Kher
Electro Morocco

Thursday, July 30

Naomi Shelton & The Queens

Friday, July 31
Royal Family: John , , ,

Saturday, August 1
Dean & Britta’s 13 Most Beautiful
Crystal Stilts

Thursday, August 6
Purple Rain Screening & Sing-a-long

Friday, August 7


Saturday, August 8
Big Daddy Kane
Special Guests TBA

Tuesday, August 11 – BENEFIT SHOW

Wednesday, August 12
&

Friday, August 14 &Saturday, August 15 – BENEFIT SHOWS


WHITperson -- aka Marc Whitman or simply "Whit" -- is a long-time LMB contributor known for his in-depth posting style and his knack for crafting interesting podcasts. Whit currently resides in Brooklyn, where he's building up his web development chops and hoping to put his technical skills towards something interesting in the music world. Follow his updates over at whitperson.com...