The War On Drugs are gearing up for a new release, their fourth album called A Deeper Understanding which is due out three weeks from today. And yet again we’ve got another track to sample!

This time it’s a single called “Pain”…

It’s the track that features the album’s title in its lyrics, and also happens to be one of two songs Adam Granduciel cut, nearly-live, on his first night working with engineer Shawn Everett and the band — bassist Dave Hartley, keyboardist Robbie Bennett, drummer Charlie Hall and multi-instrumentalists Anthony LaMarca and Jon Natchez — at Sonora Recorders in Los Angeles, a new experience for the sextet, and a testament to the band dynamic on this new album.

This follows “Holding On”, “Thinking of a Place” and “Strangest Thing” all off the new LP.

Pre-order A Deeper Understanding

THE WAR ON DRUGS’ TOUR DATES:

Mon. Sep. 18 – Portland, ME @ State Theatre
Tue. Sep. 19 – New York, NY @ Terminal 5
Thu. Sep. 21 – Philadelphia, PA @ Dell Music Center
Fri. Sep. 22 – New York, NY @ SummerStage in Central Park – SOLD OUT
Sat. Sep. 23 – Boston, MA @ Blue Hills Bank Pavilion
Mon. Sep. 25 – Charlotte, NC @ The Fillmore Charlotte
Tue. Sep. 26 – Atlanta, GA @ The Tabernacle
Thu. Sep. 28 – Dallas, TX @ The Bomb Factory
Fri. Sep. 29 – Houston, TX @ White Oak Music Hall [Outside Lawn]
Sat. Sep. 30 – Austin, TX @ Stubb’s Waller Creek Amphitheater
Thu. Oct. 5 – Los Angeles, CA @ Greek Theatre
Fri. Oct. 6 – Berkeley, CA @ Greek Theatre
Mon. Oct. 9 – Seattle, WA @ Moore Theatre – SOLD OUT
Tue. Oct. 10 – Seattle, WA @ Moore Theatre
Wed. Oct. 11 – Portland, OR @ Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall
Fri. Oct. 13 – Salt Lake City, UT @ The Complex
Sat. Oct. 14 – Denver, CO @ Ogden Theatre – SOLD OUT
Sun. Oct. 15 – Denver, CO @ Ogden Theatre
Wed. Oct. 18 – St. Paul, MN @ Palace Theatre
Thu. Oct. 19 – Chicago, IL @ Riviera Theatre
Fri. Oct. 20 – Columbus, OH @ Express Live!
Sat. Oct. 21 – Toronto, ON @ Massey Hall – SOLD OUT
Sun. Oct. 22 – Toronto, ON @ Massey Hall
Mon. Oct. 23 – Washington, DC @ The Anthem
Wed. Nov. 1 – Amsterdam, NL @ AFAS Live – SOLD OUT
Thu. Nov. 2 – Amsterdam, NL @ AFAS Live – SOLD OUT
Fri. Nov. 3 – Cologne, DE @ E-Werk – SOLD OUT
Sat. Nov. 4 – Brussels, BE @ Forest National – SOLD OUT
Mon. Nov. 6 – Paris, FR @ Bataclan
Tue. Nov. 7 – Lille, FR @ L’Aeronef
Thu. Nov. 9 – Glasgow, UK @ Barrowlands
Fri. Nov. 10 – Glasgow, UK @ Barrowlands – SOLD OUT
Sun. Nov. 12 – Manchester, UK @ O2 Apollo Manchester – SOLD OUT
Mon. Nov. 13 – Manchester, UK @ O2 Apollo Manchester
Tue. Nov. 14 – London, UK @ Alexandra Palace
Wed. Nov. 15 – Portsmouth, UK @ Portsmouth Guildhall
Fri. Nov. 17 – Zurich, CH @ X-tra
Sat. Nov. 18 – Milan, IT @ Fabrique
Mon. Nov. 20 – München, DE @ Muffathalle
Tue. Nov. 21 – Hamburg, DE @ Große Freiheit 36
Wed. Nov. 22 – Berlin, DE @ Tempodrom
Fri. Nov. 24 – Oslo, NO @ Spektrum
Sat. Nov. 25 – Copenhagen, DK @ Tap 1 – SOLD OUT
Sun. Nov. 26 – Copenhagen, DK @ Tap 1
Mon. Nov. 27 – Stockholm, SE @ Annexet
Wed. Nov. 29 – Antwerp, BE @ Lotto Arena – SOLD OUT

Send this to a friend