Tour Dates: Umphrey’s McGee Announce Fall Dates

Halloween '08 | Photo by Justin Ward

Umphrey’s McGee just announced a set of fall tour dates following the North Coast Music Fest in Chicago. The band continues to innovate and bring new things to their live concert experience on their 2010 tour dates, and they’re going to bring back some of the fan-friendly innovations they’ve put in place on previous tours like the Stew Art series shows and the Halloween mash-up style show set for St. Louis. The band also recently played “In the Round” while stopping through Cape Cod.

We have done a lot things over these 12 years but we encountered a new one on this tour, playing in the round on a rotating stage. Trust me when I tell you it is a bizarre experience from our end for the entire band and crew. From the band’s vantage point, your point of reference is never the same. When any one of them opens their eyes after a quick solo that cute girl in the front row is now a bearded wookie. No offense wooks but you’re not quite the ideal eye candy. From the crew’s standpoint you find yourself constantly adapting to the new center. The lights have to be managed from four sides instead of one. The audio changes significantly depending on which way the amps are facing and how close the drummers are to any one portion of the audience. It was a novel and enjoyable experience but not one we’d want to do everyday. We’ll leave that to In The Round pioneers Yes.

I wanted to try and give all of you fans playing along at home a sense of our perspective on the evening. So what you have here is one complete revolution of the stage at 8x the normal speed. This 360 took place during all of #5 and a small portion of Mulche’s Odyssey. Enjoy the trip.

More info on the Halloween show…

For this year’s Halloween Monster Mash-Up at St. Louis’ Pageant on October 30 and 31, Umphrey’s McGee unveils another unparalleled fan-centric experience – their “Partyin’ Peeps Enhanced Experience” fan packages. Package amenities include express entry into the venue each night, a limited edition Halloween Jeff Wood 3D hologram poster, VIP area access with private cocktail service, an exclusive piece of Umphrey’s McGee Halloween merchandise, a private post-show party, and more. At the Platinum Partyin’ Peeps level, fans get a chance for them and twenty of their friends to have their own private dressing room backstage, a private meet and greet photo session with the band in costume, a tour of the Umphrey’s McGee bus, and more. Visit www.umphreys.com more all the details.

Umphrey’s McGee 2010 Tour Dates

Saturday, September 4 North Coast Music Festival Chicago IL
Thursday, September 23 Valarium Knoxville TN
Friday, September 24 Minglewood Hall Memphis TN
Saturday, September 25 The Diamond Ballroom Oklahoma City OK
Sunday, September 26 George’s Majestic Lounge Fayetteville AR
Tuesday, September 28 El Rey Theatre Albuquerque NM
Wednesday, September 29 Orpheum Theatre Flagstaff AZ
Friday, October 1 The Depot Salt Lake City UT
Saturday, October 2 Knitting Factory Reno NV
Sunday, October 3 Hardly Strictly Bluegrass Speedway Meadows San Francisco CA
Wednesday, October 6 Arcata Theatre Arcata CA
Thursday, October 7 McDonald Theatre Eugene OR
Friday, October 8 The Showbox Seattle WA
Saturday, October 9 The Wilma Theatre Missoula MT
Thursday, October 21 Mr. Smalls Theatre Millvale PA
Saturday, October 23 House of Blues – Cleveland Cleveland OH
Wednesday, October 27 People’s Court Des Moines IA
Saturday, October 30 – Sunday, October 31 The Pageant St. Louis MO
Thursday, November 11 – Friday, November 12 Bear Creek Music & Art Fest Live Oak FL
Thursday, January 20 – Monday, January 24 Mayan Holidaze Puerto Morelos MEX

I'm the Editor. HOLLA.
  • http://sirindie.com Sir Indie

    The video looks like it a mistake to miss it this time around! =)

    SirIndie
    SirIndie.com

  • http://sirindie.com Sir Indie

    The video looks like it a mistake to miss it this time around! =)

    SirIndie
    SirIndie.com