My Morning Jacket - "Golden"

We’ve recently seen a slew of new announcements from My Morning Jacket — the big rock band we love to love. Gearing up for the release of their much-anticipated Evil Urges, the band will perform on Saturday Night Live on May 10th, they’ve just announced a string of European dates (plus 2 in Canada) and they’re now slated for an event dubbed “An Evening With My Morning Jacket” on Saturday, August 16, on the Great Lawn at Louisville Waterfront Park.

Not only that, we’re starting to get some nice previews of the new album. You can check out the eerie album artwork after the jump, Indiemuse posted a studio version of “Touch Me I’m Going To Scream [pt. 2],” Rolling Stone interviewed Jim James about the new album tracks, and the band also sat down for an interview with Billboard. Although we’ve already gotten a live preview of the new tunes, it’s pretty cool to get a taste of the studio treatment. We’re definitely digging what we’ve heard so far…

MMJ Tour Dates:
04/27/08 Sun Coachella Music Festival (Empire Polo Field) Indio, CA
06/13/08 Fri Bonnaroo Music Festival Manchester, TN
06/16/08 Mon Kool Haus Toronto, ON
06/17/08 Tue Le National Montreal, QC
06/20/08 Fri Radio City Music Hall New York, NY
06/25/08 Wed Leadmill Sheffield, UK
06/26/08 Thu Bristol Academy Bristol, UK
06/27/08 Fri Manchester Academy Manchester, UK
06/29/08 Sun Glastonbury Festival Glastonbury, UK
07/01/08 Tue Gruenspan Hamburg, GER
07/02/08 Wed Gebaude 9 Cologne, GER
07/04/08 Fri Rock Werchter Festival Werchter, BEL
07/06/08 Sun The Hop Farm Kent, UK
07/08/08 Tue Melkweg Amsterdam, NL
07/09/08 Wed Trabendo Paris, FRA
07/11/08 Fri The Rescue Rooms Nottingham, UK
07/13/08 Sun T in the Park Kinross, UK
07/15/08 Tue The Forum London, UK
07/19/08 Sat Benicassim Festival Valencia, SPA
07/26/08 Sat Pemberton Festival Pemberton, BC
08/16/08 Sat Waterfront Park Louisville, KY


Album Artwork for Evil Urges, due June 10th on ATO:

mmj-evil_urges_cover.jpg

No more articles