The iconic and all too underrated Steely Dan is embarking on another summer tour that will pass through almost a dozen cities. The highlight of the tour is almost certainly the three night run in New York City’s Beacon Theater.

Steely Dan is a band that has blurred the lines of jazz, rock ‘n roll and R&B for over three decades. Known mainly for their perfection in the studio, Donald Fagen and Walter Becker put together an incredible ensemble for their shows. Some of the best jazz and R&B musicians in the business climb on board for these tours. Who knows — you may be lucky enough to catch a date where Michael McDonald unleashes his unflinchingly soulful voice on your eardrums.


06/08/08 Sun Hard Rock Cafe Ft. Lauderdale, FL
06/09/08 Mon Ruth Eckerd Hall Clearwater, FL*
06/11/08 Wed Verizon Wireless Amphitheatre at Encore Park Alpharetta, GA*
06/13/08 Fri Beacon Theatre New York, NY
06/14/08 Sat Beacon Theatre New York, NY
06/17/08 Tue Beacon Theatre New York, NY
06/23/08 Mon Bank Of America Pavilion Boston, MA*
06/25/08 Wed Chevrolet Theatre Wallingford, CT
06/27/08 Fri The Borgata Hotel Casino and Spa Atlantic City, NJ
06/28/08 Sat Susquehanna Bank Center (Formerly Tweeter Center) Camden, NJ*
07/01/08 Tue Salle Wilfrid-Pelletier/ Place des Arts Montreal, QC
07/02/08 Wed Salle Wilfrid-Pelletier/ Place des Arts Montreal, QC
07/03/08 Thu Casino Rama Rama, ON
07/05/08 Sat Ottawa Jazz Festival Ottawa, ON
* w/ Sam Yahel

I’ve been lucky enough to catch the Dan twice in my life and was not disappointed either time; in fact, I was blown away both times. If you are one of the people reading this and saying, “Steely Dan, don’t they sing that song ‘Do It Again’ that I hear on my classic rock station sometimes?” then follow these directions. Go to your local record store, buy Aja or Gaucho, go home and put it on your iPod, and let yourself slip into some of the smoothest, most finely produced music this world has ever heard. If you do know what I’m talking about already, then go throw on “Razor Boy” and start daydreaming about seeing Fagen and Becker this summer. Here’s an added treat…

No more articles